Man-Pleasing Chicken

Three years ago, I was living on the island of American Samoa in the middle of the Pacific Ocean where grocery stores only sold meat (and you think I’m kidding). One of my neighbors, my friend Alison, loved to cook. She had me over for lunch one day and made me something I had never had before – a black bean burger. I was absolutely blown away and by the time I came back to the U.S., I still had that burger on my mind and knew that I had to try making them myself. Thanks for that, Alison!

Whatever I typed in to Google to find a easy recipe led me to this website, Iowa Girl Eats, and I was instantly drooling over the photos and ease of the recipe, her engaging writing style, and her humor. It was at that point that I realized I wouldn’t just be making these Chipotle Black Bean Burgers, but I would also start to become a food blog reader, starting with Iowa Girl Eats. It only makes sense that the very first recipe I post on Eatin’ with Quinn is from the blog that originally started my passion and dream to someday start my own space to write about food.

Things to note before you keep reading: We are not food photographers, we have the world’s worst lighting in our tiny kitchen (we also have barely any natural light (wahh), and most of the time, I start to get really hangry when the food is on my plate so there aren’t that many pictures of the food. You’re better off that way. Just make the recipe. Now. Also, when I say we, I mean Jerrod and I because we cook together almost every single meal.

IMG_0480

Why is it called Man-Pleasing Chicken? I am also pleased by the combination of decadent, juicy chicken, buttery mushrooms, and crispy bacon swimming in a creamy sauce.

IMG_0484

I think someone else would also be pleased too if he could just have one taste.

IMG_0483

Man-Pleasing Chicken (Adapted from Iowa Girl Eats)

serves 2 very hungry humans

Ingredients:

  • 4 slices of bacon, chopped
  • 2 chicken breasts
  • Sea salt (or regular salt) and freshly cracked pepper (or ground)
  • 1 tbsp butter
  • Mushrooms (amount is your own preference – we used about half a carton), sliced
  • 4 cups baby spinach
  • 1/2 C half & half
  • 1/3 C parmesan cheese (grated or shredded works) – definitely add more to your liking

Directions:

  1. Cook the bacon in a large skillet over medium heat – original recipe calls for crispy but if you like a bit of a chew, go for it. Remove from heat once cooked and place on a paper towel covered plate to drain. Leave all of the bacon grease in the skillet – don’t you dare pour it out!
  2. Season the chicken (both sides) with salt & pepper. Saute them until they’re no longer pink – depending upon how cooked you like your chicken, this could take 3-7 minutes per side. Cover the pan with a lid to keep all the moisture in the meat. Once cooked, leave the chicken in the pan and put the pan on a burner that’s off – the juicier the better!
  3. In a separate pan, melt the butter and throw in your mushrooms.  To me, mushrooms aren’t cooked unless they are basically butter and fall apart in your mouth. Chewy shrooms freak me out a little bit. Spoon those shroomies around for 5-6 minutes or until you’re happy with the texture. Add the spinach and stir until it’s gently wilted – about 1 minute or a little more. Throw the bacon in with the shrooms & spinach, stir until combined.
  4. Add half & half to the fungus/veggie/meat combo, stirring it until it thickens – it took 2-3 minutes. Once thickened, add in the parmesan cheese and stir it until combined.
  5. Plate the chicken on top of whatever you want to eat with it (i.e. pasta), and spoon on the creamy deliciousness till your heart’s content. Devour & guzzle a Shiner with it. Enjoy the food coma that happens 5 seconds after your plate is clear.

IMG_0485

Some of the things we did that were quite different:

  • We used four pieces of bacon, because bacon. We also definitely used all of the grease from the bacon because 1 tbsp was not enough as noted in the recipe.
  • We didn’t use onions – I can’t eat them because apparently you can be intolerant to the blasted things. Who knew?
  • We didn’t have any parmesan to grate so we used shredded. It worked just fine.

IMG_0486

Kristen recommends serving it with mashed potatoes or pasta – we put it on spaghetti and it was the perfect combo. I will definitely be making this Human-Pleasing, ridiculously easy, delicious dinner again. Let me know if you make it!

One Comment Add yours

Leave a Reply

