Elvis-ish Granola

It’s March! How is that possible – I swear it was New Years yesterday? March makes me think that Spring is just around the corner (I saw Robins last week!), but when I looked outside the house this morning, I knew that that was definitely not the case.

DSC_0015 I did not leave the house until this afternoon, but a certain creature was outside running laps most of the day. He was pouty that no one wanted to join him.

DSC_0022

DSC_0024 Can you spot Massey?

DSC_0029

My brother, Connor, came down for the weekend. He helped Jerrod plow and shovel our driveway. I stayed inside.

DSC_0041

DSC_0052You’re probably like me and getting chilled by looking at all these snowy pictures. What better reason than to whip up a batch of homemade granola? One of my most favorite breakfasts is a big bowl of greek yogurt, granola, and fresh berries. For so many years, my granola has come straight out of a box and it’s always tasted like cardboard. Last year, I decided to try making granola and I’ve been hooked ever since. I’ll never buy cardboard granola again.

DSC_0013

Elvis-ish Granola (Adapted from Eat, Live, Run)

Serves 2 humans for 4 days – 2 weeks (depends how you choose to enjoy it)

Ingredients:

DSC_0004

  • 1/4 C canola oil
  • 1/3 C maple syrup (it would probably be even better using real syrup)
  • 1/4 C peanut butter (mine was crunchy with flax & chia seeds mixed in)
  • 1/2 tsp salt
  • 1 tsp cinnamon
  • 4 C old fashioned oats
  • 1/4 C ground flax seed (also called flax meal)
  • 1/2 C nuts (I used a combo of chopped pecans & honey roasted almond slices)
  • 1/2 C sunflower seeds (I realized they never made it in this picture)
  • 2/3 C chocolate chips (also not in this picture. geez Q)

Directions:

1. Preheat the oven to 275. I thought this was a bit weird because that’s really low for granola – I’d turn it up to 325/50 next time.

2. Pour the canola oil, maple syrup, peanut butter, salt, & cinnamon into a saucepan – bring it to a simmer for 3 – 4 min. Enjoy the amazing smell.

DSC_0005

3. As your kitchen fills with a mouthwatering aroma, mix the rest of your dry ingredients together in a large bowl (oats, flax, nuts, seeds). Once the stovetop ingredients have melted, pour them over the dry ingredients and stir until everything is coated.

4. Spread the mixture onto parchment-lined (best idea – hardly any clean up!) baking sheets. I used two.

DSC_0007

5. Bake the granola for 40 minutes – stirring every 10 minutes (important so it doesn’t burn). Most granola I’ve made usually only takes 20ish minutes which is why I would never bake this recipe on 275 again. Way too much patience for me when all I wanted was to eat it.

DSC_0011

6. The granola will be done once it’s a golden brown color. Pour it in a tupperware once it’s cooled for a couple minutes. I threw the chocolate chips in right away so they got a little melty. The original recipe said to wait until the granola had cooled, but we all know that melty chocolate is better than anything ever.

IMG_0516

I couldn’t wait to try it so I threw some on top of vanilla bean ice cream – divine.

IMG_0518

Q: Why is it Elvis-ish Granola and not Elvis Granola?

A: I didn’t use peanuts or banana chips. Also, didn’t Elvis like bacon? I guess a true Elvis Granola would include bacon, but mine is just Elvis-ish. (I keep typing Elvish-ish – must be time for me to watch LOTR).

2 Comments Add yours

  1. Twila says:

    OMG. I love your food blog eatin with Quinn. Seeing Massey and Jerrod is wonderful. Just read your Elvis-ish granola WOW sounds wonderful. Might have to try it today. Today is a snow day in Texas so the city of Austin is shut down till at least 11am. And I am watching a friends little boy Zachary so think will get Zachary and Stephanie to make some granola. Have a couple cakes to make today also one of them will be going all the way to Houston this weekend. 😃 Well that’s for the blog Quinn love being able to see the family now.

    Like

    1. Quinn says:

      Hi Twila! Thanks for the sweet comment. I’m glad you like the blog 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

