Baked Funfetti Donuts

Saturday and Sunday mornings have quickly become my most favorite time of the week. I love when they are slow, when I can actually enjoy my coffee and the little of the morning light that streams in our windows. The house is quiet. I can make a big breakfast that isn’t rushed. The best.

Shortly after Jerrod and I got engaged, I started getting Brides in the mail. I didn’t sign up for it, so I thought the first one may have just been a fluke, but then they kept coming. I usually don’t flip through them right away because it shocks me how much money people spend to get married. $6,000 for a dress you wear one day/night? How. Why. No.

But when I do read the magazines, it’s a fun, butterfly in my stomach reminder that in 229 days, I’ll be a bride.

IMG_0615

Last night, I’ll say around 9:00, I started to get dessert hangry. A few pieces of dark chocolate wouldn’t do. I needed something more. I went straight to my best source – Pinterest. I wanted to find something that didn’t involve a lot of butter (gasp! “but you love butter, Quinn!”). I only had a couple of tablespoons – the rest was frozen and I was too lazy to want to work with ice cold butter. And then I found this recipe. Sally’s Baking Addiction has long been one of my favorite food blogs. She loves using sprinkles and I love sprinkles so Baked Funfetti Donuts it was. At 9:00 p.m. Yesss.

DSC_0013

Do you have a donut pan? If not, you can buy one at Michaels. Wilton makes a great one! Here is a link to it. $10! Plus, Michaels always has 40% off coupons, so you can get it for maybe $8ish! Don’t trust my math. Also, they call the place where you put the dough cavitiesDONUT CAVITIES. Now that’s just rude.

DSC_0008

Baked Funfetti Donuts (Sally’s Baking Addiction)

Serves 2 humans for 2 days (because donuts…)

Donut Ingredients

DSC_0005

  • 1 cup all-purpose flour
  • 1 tsp. baking powder
  • 1/4 tsp. baking soda
  • 1/4 tsp. nutmeg (although I love a nutmeggy taste, I would even cut this in half – it was all I tasted)
  • 1/3 C sugar
  • 1/4 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk (originally recipe says you can use any kind of milk – didn’t mention cashew)
  • 1/4 C Greek yogurt (I’ll use vanilla greek next time!)
  • 1 large egg
  • 2 tbls. butter, melted (you betcha I used salted), original called for unsalted)
  • 1 1/2 tsp. vanilla extract
  • 1/2 C rainbow sprinkles (not pareil)

Glaze Ingredients

DSC_0020

  • 1/4 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk (once again, can use any kind)
  • 2 C powdered sugar
  • 1 tsp. vanilla extract
  • sprinkles, sprinkles, sprinkles

Directions

  1. Preheat oven to 350 degrees. Spray your donut pan with non-stick spray.
  2. In a medium bowl, whisk flour, baking powder, baking soda, nutmeg, & sugar until combined.
  3. In a different small/medium bowl, whisk milk, yogurt, and egg until combined. Add in melted butter and vanilla extract. Continue to whisk until all wet ingredients are combined.
  4. Pour wet ingredients over dry ingredients. As Sally says, “…stir until just combined. Do not overmix. The batter will be very thick. Fold in the sprinkles gently to ensure they do not bleed their color.” Do as Sally says. She is wise!DSC_0015DSC_0017
  5. Get your batter into those cavities. I struggled with this because the batter is thick. I tried Sally’s suggestion of putting the batter in a Ziplock bag and snipping off a corner. It worked, but so much batter got wasted. I really don’t have a good suggestion for you. Terrible of me I know. I needed this because it exists now. Neat.

DSC_0019

6. Bake the donuts for 9-11 minutes. Mine were in probably 9.5. You want to see a little bit of brown along the edges. Too brown and your donuts will be dry. I hope they come out of the oven looking like these (little puffs of colorful deliciousness).

DSC_0021

7. As the donuts are baking, you can get your glaze prepped. Mix the milk, powdered sugar, and vanilla in a small saucepan. Whisk continuously until the glaze is smooth. Definitely sample it. Mmmm.

8. I instantly started dunking the donuts into the glaze as soon as I took them out of the oven. This wasn’t the best idea because they started to fall apart. Had I read the original directions that said to let the donuts cool for a little while, I probably wouldn’t have had this problem. But hey, there are worse problems out there. Dunk, dunk-a-roo.

9. Have some aluminum foil laying under a wire rack as you lay the glaze soaked donuts on it. Definitely double dip in the glaze as Sally said. Doooo it. And then sprinkle them to death with sprinkles. FUN-FUN-FUNFETTI!

DSC_0023

DSC_0024

Accidentally had the flash on…but that glaze drip…

DSC_0025

Eat them raw and wriggling. Oh wait, you’re not Smeagol. Eat them warm and dripping! Warm and dripping.

DSC_0027

They weren’t as good on day 2, so you definitely need to eat all 6 when you make them. Because donuts.

FullSizeRender-1Whoever owns the house we rent is kitchen creepy and used mirrors as a backsplash. So weird. How many donuts do you see?

DSC_0022

8 Comments Add yours

  1. CodyC says:

    They look delicious!

    Like

    1. Quinn says:

      Thanks, CodyC & fellow donut lover! They were so fun to eat! 🙂

      Liked by 1 person

  2. janbolander says:

    Your dad is sad. He thought these were made with Fruity Pebbles!

    Like

    1. Quinn says:

      I bet you could easily sub in fruity pebbles! I’ll keep that in mind for his birthday.

      Like

  3. Arielle says:

    Oh my, they look amazing! 🙂

    Like

    1. Quinn says:

      They definitely tasted amazing 🙂 Thanks for the follow, Arielle!

      Like

  4. Laura says:

    Girl those look amazing!

    Like

    1. Quinn says:

      Thanks, lady 🙂

      Like

Leave a Reply

