Life is Busy but There’s Always Food

March and April have been the busiest months of my life, ever.

That’s actually not true, but it’s kind of true. They’ve been rough, but May is near! May will bring time in the kitchen, meals outside every single day, adventures, and change. I’m ready. Bring it on, life.

I don’t have a single recipe for you, but instead I have suggestions for you.

Food Lately:

– Wine Battered Coconut Shrimp over Brown Rice : Bev Cooks is my most favorite blog. She’s hilarious, her photos are beauties, and she’s got the dang cutest little twin babies. I saw ‘wine battered’ and instantly said YES. All-in-all though, the taste of this meal kind of resembled what it would feel like to wear white pants and then sit down on a bench that had wet, brown paint. Weird? Yes. I don’t even own white pants, but if I did, and I sat on a wet, brown bench, I’d be pretty ticked. I’m losing you, I think. I forgot about the rice, I really don’t like anything fried (who am I), and well, I just wasn’t feeling it. Ya win, ya lose.

– My Favorite Granola : I am a granola addict. When I don’t have granola, I am sad. I refuse to ever buy granola again because 1) it is so easy to make and 2) nothing makes me happier than the smell of it wafting (catch that, Abby?) out of my oven. And oh my SWEET BABY POTATOES is this a good recipe. I also kind of made it my own with a few additional ingredients. Next time I make it, I’ll be sure to add it here.

– Old Fashioned Potato Salad : Potato Salad is not the first thing I dig in to when I’m at a picnic, but it’s probably the 4th (followed by deviled eggs, taco dip, and the meat!). Jerrod and I had friends over this weekend, and he made this recipe. He added a couple of his own additions and it turned out uber delicious. I will definitely have him make this again!

– Simple Black Bean Dip : Black beans are a staple around here. I go through cans and cans and cans. This dip was really simple and super tasty. It was great just with chips, but it was even better spread on a tortilla, topped with chicken and cheese, covered, and cooked over the stove for 5-7 minutes. Throw on some hot sauce, maybe a little cilantro. OOH yusss. So simple and so full of healthiness.

Let me know if you make any of these! And remember that tomorrow is Earth Day! Hug a tree. Don’t use a K-Cup for your coffee but get a reusable one instead. Sniff some flowers. Walk to work. Do earthy things, y’all.

Leave a Reply

