3 Easy & Delicious Smoothies

One of my favorite, go-to, breakfasts lately has been smoothies. Honestly, you can pretty much throw any fruit in a blender with a few other things and call it a smoothie, but there are a couple of ingredients that are key to a delicious and easy liquid breakfast. These are a few of my favorite smoothie additions:

–> frozen banana: I go through bananas so quickly, but sometimes I’ll buy the ones that are close to being ripe, let them sit on my counter for a few days and then break them in chunks and freeze them. Frozen banana helps your smoothie be uber creamy and thick. If you’re not a banana fan, you might want to skip them.

—> frozen mango: also makes smoothies uber creamy. I love snacking on it and I love putting some in my water for a little flavor punch too!

–> unsweetened vanilla almond milk: I prefer to add this over regular milk or OJ.

–> spinach/kale: blend it with the right ingredients and you can’t even taste it!

–> ground ginger: I love the taste of ginger and throwing a 1/2 tsp or a tsp into your smoothie goes a long, delicious way!

Here are a couple smoothie recipes that I’ve made lately. Note that I used reeeeeally ripe bananas for two of them. I didn’t freeze them this time around, so I didn’t have super thick smoothies.

1) Peachy Kale Smoothie

Ingredients:

FullSizeRender 2

  • 1/2 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1 5.3 oz plain greek yogurt cup
  • 1 very ripe banana
  • 1/2 C sliced peaches
  • 2 handfuls (frozen) kale

Directions:

Start with your milk and then add yogurt, peaches, kale, and then banana. Blend until creamy!

The final product will be very green, but if you put it in a bowl and top it with things like frozen raspberries, chia seeds, flax seed, and toasted coconut, you can, as my mom says “make ART!” Smoothie bowls are the new Mona Lisa, didn’t you know?

IMG_0265

2) Chocolate Banana Protein Punch Smoothie

Ingredients:

  • IMG_0272 1/2 C unsweetened vanilla almond milk
  • 1/2 C plain, nonfat yogurt
  • 2 very ripe bananas
  • 2 handfuls (frozen) spinach
  • 1 tbsp. powdered peanut butter – chocolate flavor*

*Find this powdered pb at your local Hyvee! Read about why it’s good for you here.

Directions:

Start with your milk, then yogurt, spinach, bananas, and lastly pb. Blend!

Sorry, no photo of the finished product. Had to guzzle this one!

3) Tropical Green Smoothie

Ingredients:

IMG_0305

  • 2/3 C Vita Coco Pure Coconut Water (I chose it for the peach & mango flavor!)
  • 1/2 C plain, nonfat yogurt
  • 1/2 C frozen pineapple (mine was a little freezer burned.eek. That’s what I get for buying 5 pineapples a few months ago and cutting them all up and freezing them – I just hate buying pre cut pineapple when I can cut it myself!)
  • 1/4 C frozen raspberries
  • 1/4 C frozen mango
  • 2 handfuls (frozen) spinach

Directions:

Add your coconut water, yogurt, spinach, and frozen pineapple. Gradually add in the raspberries and mango. You may need more liquid than what I’ve added – this was a chunky one!

Also no photo. Sorry!

Enjoy 🙂

Leave a Reply

