Mediterranean/Mexican lunch wrap

When I’m out for lunch, the last thing I would ever choose to order is a wrap. Honestly, I’m not really a wrap kinda gal. I prefer a sandwich. But this, my friends, this is a wrap I will easily make again because 1) the ingredients are all delicious 2) it took me about 3 minutes to make and 3) it’s healthy and perfect for lunch!

Mediterranean/Mexican lunch wrap

Serves One Human

Ingredients:

  • A tortilla – I chose the La Tortilla Factory 100 calorie tortillas, mostly because they’re 100% whole wheat
  • DSC_0022Hummus (I used Roasted Red Pepper) – use as much or as little as you would like
  • A Mexican blend of cheese – once again, use as much or as little as you would like
  • A leaf from a Romaine heart, washed, and chopped into medium sized pieces
  • 1/4 C garbanzo beans/chickpeas
  • Greek Yogurt – use as much or as little as you would like

Directions:

1) Spread a layer of hummus on your tortilla. I started from the middle and spread a little over 1/3 of the tortilla. My layer was thin, but you could easily add it pretty thick.

2) Spread your garbanzo beans/chickpeas on top of the hummus

3) Top with Mexican cheese

DSC_0023

4) Spread the Romaine on top of the cheese

5) Dollop your Greek yogurt on top of the Romaine – I did little dollops so it covered the whole spread.

5) Wrap it up! I’m not a good wrap wrapper, so I used a toothpick, but whatever, it worked! I sliced mine in half so it was easier to eat.

DSC_0026

DSC_0024

I served it with a massive sized apple and some Hyvee potato chips! Perfect lunch, and I bet you could get kids to eat it too!

DSC_0025

There is plenty of fiber in this wrap, as well as protein from the beans and the greek yogurt. There’s also the added bonus of a little dairy, the greens, and the hummus. Win win on all levels!

2 Comments Add yours

  1. janbolander says:

    I might make that! If I could just have my chick peas back…

    Like

Leave a Reply

