Grub…Lately x2

on

Hi.

It’s been a while. Way too long. I apologize. Life happens. But I’m back! I’ve got some great things headed your way, however, I just wanted to give you a little “what I’ve been eating” update. I hope that someday, when I’m older, I’ll look back on these posts and go, “That was a good meal, I should make it again.” I’m sure I’ll also go, “Why did I eat that?” Either way, here’s some food that’s been consumed in my house this summer:

Breakfast

Smoothies: Vegan Berry Crunch Smoothie Bowl, Peach Raspberry Smoothie, Raspberry Chocolate Smoothie, Carrot Pineapple Smoothie, Green Monster Spinach Smoothie

Etc: Raisin Bran Crunch (hands down, best cereal EVER), yogurt with whole grain cereal, flax seed, & lots of fruit

Lunch

Ham & Cheese sandwiches, the yogurt combo up there ^, scrambled eggs…I really dislike lunch. I always try to eat fruit at lunch. Veggies occasionally – cucumber and raw carrots are my go to.

Dinner

Grilled Honey Orange Chicken Salad (ummm this was phenomenal…so much that I posted a photo of it on my instagram),  Crockpot Cheeseburgers, Whole Wheat Stromboli with Peppers and Chicken Sausages, Homemade Hamburger Helper

Etc: Grilled brats, grilled lemon-pepper chicken, grilled burgers, grilled steaks, grilled sweet corn….are you noticing a theme here? SUMMAHHHH! We stocked up on lots of fresh veggies at the Urbana’s Market at the Square, which was a really awesome market! I was so impressed. Row after row of produce, jewelry, crafts, coffee, food (food trucks galore!), and DONUTS. Although it’s a bit of a hike for us to get to, we’ll definitely be back.

IMG_1230

These.donuts. Oh man. Pandamonium Donuts. Clockwise from top left: Maple Bacon Apple Fritter, Blackberry, Chocolate Crumble, and Cereal Killer. You betcha I ate two of those babies. I was in absolute heaven. And to make it all even better, we washed it down with a Slingshot Cold Brew. I have been following Slingshot on Instagram for about a year now, and since they are based out of North Carolina, I never thought I’d be able to try it! About a month ago, Pandamonium announced that they were now offering it….I was sooooo happy! And it was delicious.

Sides

Grilled Cilantro-Lime Sweet Potatoes, Mango, Avocado, and Black Bean Salsa

Desserts

Trix Krispies (I made these on the 4th of July and I must say, the colors made me so happy), Ultimate Chocolate Chip Cookie n’ Oreo Fudge Brownie Bar (ZOMG)

Drinks

Kahlua Frozen Mudslide, Shaken Nectarine Vodka Chillers, favorite beers of the summer: Schlafly Wheat, Shiner Prickly Pear, Lienies Summer & Grapefruit Shandies, and Baraboo Brewing Company’s Woodpecker Wheat

Also, we made Pimm’s Cups! GAH! There used to be a place in California where I would get them and they were fantastic. I used How Sweet Eats’ recipe and it was exactly like the place in CA. Needless to say, these will be made again and again. There’s cucumber in them so that means they are healthy.

IMG_1209

IMG_1212

IMG_1220

IMG_1222

Cheers! Stay tuned for more news, recipes, and photos!

Leave a Reply

